Who was the First President?

Biography of John Hanson

Samuel Huntington

While Samuel Huntington was the first President of the United States of America, there were presidents of the Continental Congress before him! These were John Hancock, Henry Laurens, John Jay, and Samuel Huntington.

And before them, there was the Continental Legislature of the colonies from 1774, with presidents Peyton Randolph, Henry Middleton, and John Hancock.

The Articles of Confederation were proposed in 1777 but The United States of America was formed finally in 1781 when all 13 states had ratified the Articles of Confederation: the first state was Virginia and the last one was Maryland. The presidents under the Articles of Confederation were Samuel Huntington, Thomas McKean, John Hanson, Elias Boudinot, Thomas Mifflin (to whom George Washington resigned his Commission), Richard Henry Lee, John Hancock, Nathaniel Gorman, Arthur St. Clair, and Cyrus Griffin.

The eleventh president of the United States of America was a fellow named George Washington.